Cleansers: in restrospect | Review

So instead of cleaning my room I’m here again! Thought I would write as much as I can now before I lose interest.

Today I will be reviewing some cleansers. I have noticed that my skin is getting flaky, and the eczema on my nose has started flaring up again within the past few days.

And I know why. Because I’ve switched to my Shiseido cleanser again!

Whenever my nose flares up the alarm bells ring and I immediately switch back to good ol’ Cetaphil.

On to the reviews… To summarise, today I will be reviewing 6 foaming/rinse-off cleansers.

1. Shiseido The Skincare Extra Gentle Cleansing Foam
2. Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Cleansing Foam
3. Shiseido Pureness Foaming Cleansing Fluid
4. Cetaphil wash (standard)
5. Dermalogica Ultracalming Cleanser
6. Avene Cleanance Soap-free Gel Cleanser
 

1. Shiseido The Skincare Extra Gentle Cleansing Foam – Score: 3/5

Pros: Smells nice, foams up very well, only small amount needed, cleanses adequately.

Cons: Pricey, dries my skin out, flares up my eczema (although this has only been from last year. I was using it before that and I was fine!).

Price: AU$29.50 (Strawberrynet), AU$61 (RRP) – RRP in Australia is disgusting. Go buy this one online!

Buy again: No

Overall: Too bad this one suddenly dried me up and triggered my eczema. I actually quite liked it. Now I have half a tube left in the cupboard =(

 

2. Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Cleansing Foam and 3. Shiseido Pureness Foaming Cleansing Fluid – Score: 3/5 

Pros: smells nice, lathers, cleans quite well.

Cons: dries me up, didn’t do anything revolutionary for my skin.

Price: AU$49.50 & AU$30 (Snet), AU$73 & AU$?? (RRP).

Buy again: No and No

Overall: I bunched these two together because they essentially did the same thing to me. I liked The Skincare one better. I haven’t touched these two since my skin became temperamental. The Pureness one is especially drying on my combination skin. Only use if you’re definitely oily.

 

4. Cetaphil wash – Score: 5/5

Pros: moisturises, fragrance-free, minimal ingredients.

Cons: doesn’t cleanse adequately on its own, doesn’t lather.

Price: About AU$20 for 1 litre.

Buy again: Yes

Overall: My default go-to cleanser to use in conjunction with the Clarisonic. A dependable gentle cleanser for those who don’t have a specific skin problem or those who doesn’t use makeup/sunscreen. I really only use this to have some sort of an “emollient” for my Clarisonic and to cleanse the residue of the cleansing oil. It’s good to use in the morning as well.

 

5. Dermalogica Ultracalming Cleanser – Score: 4/5

Pros: glides very nicely (sounds weird), mild, doesn’t dry your skin, doesn’t irritate your skin.

Cons: expensive, doesn’t cleanse adequately when you wear makeup or sunscreen.

Price: AU$47 for 250ml (Snet), AU$53 (RRP).

Buy again: No

Overall: This is an expensive version of Cetaphil. However I have to say it glides on much more smoothly and it has a nicer consistency. When I wash with this in the morning I still retain my “just woken up” even-toned, calm skin. However it is too expensive when I get the same result using Cetaphil. I don’t know why I bought this actually.

 

6. Avene Cleanance Soap-free Gel Cleanser – Score: 3/5

Pros: smells awesome, cleanses well.

Cons: drying.

Price: AU$25 (RRP).

Buy again: No.

Overall: Other than the fact that it smells awesome, there is nothing special about this cleanser. It’s quite drying on the skin. Good for summer if your skin can stand it.

Fingers crossed a part 2 will be coming up sometime in the future!

Leave a Reply

