Pond’s Cold Cream | Review

What!? A non-asian skincare review? Makeup reviews? What has this blog become? It’s not living up to its claims!

I just felt that I had to mention a controversial product which has probably been on your great-grandmother’s vanity table since the early 20th century:

Pond’s Cold Cream – Score: 4/5

I am a big fan of creamy, wipe-off cleansing milks, and my pricey Decléor Cleansing Milk was down to its last drops. I couldn’t justify spending a lot of money on a simple cleansing milk (which my skin actually is not suited to anyway) so I decided to try Pond’s Cold Cream.

ponds cold cream

Pros: cheap, readily available, moisturises, cleans makeup like no other!

Cons: too oily, can clog pores, contains questionable ingredients such as mineral oil and alcohol.

Price: I got the 9.5oz/269grams for about AU$7 at Chemist Warehouse.

Buy again: Maybe.

Overall: I don’t know how to describe its makeup cleansing power. It’s… awesome beyond words. I bought it as a daily cleanser, but didn’t end up using it because it was WAY too oily for the whole face.

I ended up using it a every time I would do eye makeup trials. I literally put this on top of the made-up areas, rub a little bit, put a sheet of tissue on top and 99% of the makeup including mascara and liquid eyeliner are lifted off instantly! Without any harsh rubbing or alcohol-based cleansers.

I usually rely on oil cleansers but they can be a bit messy because you have to rinse them off with warm water. With the cold cream, you can just wipe it off with a tissue or cotton bud.

Here’s a demonstration of the powerful cold cream! Please note that I purposefully laid on the makeup really thick so I had to rub quite hard. You wouldn’t put this much on your face… so you won’t have to rub this hard or at all when removing makeup.

From left to right: NYX eye shadow with Etude House Proof 10 eye primer > NYX pencil eyeliner > Majolica Majorca Perfect Automatic Eyeliner (liquid) > Dejavu Fiberwig Waterproof Mascara.

ponds cold cream test

Apologies for the poor quality of the video.

Leave a Reply

